Spotted: Colors to Die for!


The lawn scene in Pakistan has matured, and competition has done everyone good. Remember the demand supply chapters in economics? We can see the invisible hand actually working here, I am glad I finally get to apply all the economics that I once struggled to understand. We see exciting new designers coming into the market every season, and the old players becoming the best of best so that they do not lose their share – it’s the survival of the fittest. We, the consumers, now have unlimited choices.

The first volumes have been out for a while now, and we will see the second volumes of designers come out in July, as the shop keeper at Hina Fabrics was informing me. Gul Ahmed’s second volume is out already? Yes I think so.

Today I am writing this post for two reasons, one, this billboard picture of Misaal that I spotted, and the second being the chances of our Textile industry to enter the markets of India.

“Ayesha Hussain & Sanya Muneer! Two good friends decided to come up with their very own Exclusive Label called “MISAAL”.
Misaal is a design house based on one simple principal, Elegance! ”

I have loved the look and feel of their facebook page, and their billboards are very attractive indeed. But I selected this particular one because it has my favorite this season, the multi colored Karhaii (embroidery). The Karhaii has really added excitement to the dress, plus it looks different. Isn’t this really difficult now a days in this lawn tsunami, to find a suit that is ‘different’?

I read an article on how our elegant and “innovative women fabrics’ designs” can create a buzz in India, however the non tariff barriers are still a major reason why establishing a stronghold in India has been difficult. Indian women love the designs, and shalwar kameez is now a popular dress for women in India, instead of Saari’s. Designers sell to Indian women around the world – in various exhibitions, but are not allowed to set up outlets in India. If our relations with India get better (ever) I am hoping to see this lawn fever reaching out to Indian women as well, who I believe share our tastes and culture.

Because of all the problems faced by the Pakistan textile industry today, loadshedding being a major one, the contribution of textile industry to exports has fallen from the phenomenal 60%. However, I am hoping to see the textile industry flourish in the future, and being able to trade with India will definitely give a boost!