Why all this Buzz regarding Aishwarya Rai!


I write after being super annoyed.

I came across this on facebook:

No offence intended for the one who created this, I know it meant to offend no one and was just shared for humor purposes, but I must say I did not find it funny. And it is not about this picture alone, it is about the millions of shares on facebook of articles talking about the weight gain of Ashwarya Rai. First of all, why is weight gain such a big issue? Pregnancy is a difficult process and a woman’s body goes through a lot of changes. I feel for the celebrities, whose life is not private at all. But I also feel for the society which has idealized size zero as beautiful and any other size as undesirable. These perceptions are driving millions of girls towards depression and becoming anorexic, and this worries me a lot.

Weight – does not matter! It is about how you carry yourself. It is the words that come out of your mouth. It is in the smile you put to other people’s face. It is the spirit in you!

Why are we encasing beauty in a size, when it is so much more than that. I want all of us to pause, just for a second, and think of how we have let media influence our perceptions. We really need to get out of the ‘size syndrome’ and redefine beauty. Trust me, it will lead to a much happier society, where every man’s wife IS the most desirable for him!

