A Daily Skin Routine is as important as Brushing your Teeth!


We can all be very lazy, skipping cleansing and directly washing your face before sleeping is too enticing, but is this going to help our skin in the long run? As they say, there are beautiful women, and then there are the lazy ones. So yes, there are just two kinds.

Following a daily skin regimen is as important as brushing your teeth. When we are being lazy, we are letting bacteria settle on our skin, which will cause early aging and a lot of other skin problems like two tones, blemishes, dry damaged skin, black heads, and pimples. To avoid all that, and to keep your skin fresh, I would recommend the following routine which I have broken down into simple steps:

Step 1: Cleansing

Usually experts recommend cleansing twice a day, in the morning and at night, however I do not have so much time so I usually do it at night. I use Fioro Bella’s cleanser, it works well for my fair skin tone. With a little bit of water, massage for about two minutes. Massage is key, it removes make-up effectively, helps improve blood circulation and helps avoid wrinkles as it keeps the skin taut. This is your best shot at keeping your skin younger for a longer period of time. During winters, I usually avoid using too much face wash as skin gets dry, so I just use the cleanser as an alternative to keep the skin clean.

Step 2: Toning

If you may have also noticed, whenever you use a toner after cleansing, you can clearly see dust on the cotton ball. After cleansing, use a toner to remove whatever dust remains on the skin. Toning also closes your pores instantly. Use a mild toner if your skin is dry or sensitive.

Step 3: Moisturising

There are a number of night creams available out there. I usually skip this step after cleansing in summers because my skin gets really oily, but moisturising your skin is important to keep the moisture locked in. Lack of moisture causes wrinkles, especially in your eye area since it does not have its own glands that produce oil. In summers, I use a little bit of cream with water and massage it in circular motions. It helps keep the skin hydrated.

For a day cream, make sure you select a moisturiser that contains SPF 15 or more. Sunscreen is equally important in summers and winters. Harmful UV rays damage skin, all those dark spots  and early ageing signs you may have? Well that is because of sun exposure. Although sunscreen doesn’t completely protect you from the UV rays, it is helpful to quite an extent. You should wear sunglasses or even carry an umbrella if you are up for it for maximum protection against sun.

Step 4: Exfoliation

Exfoliate atleast twice a week, Biggest benefit? It removes dead skin cells and blackheads. I do it twice a week because excess exfoliliation makes my skin dry, however you can decide how many times you want to do it in a week depending on your skin type. I use a scrub with small grains. Make sure you are NOT aggressive when you are exfoliating, since that can cause irritation and even redness. Keep the massage gentle and regular.

Step 5: Masks

Although on a daily basis I do not get time to use masks, I do a small do-it-at-home facial every sunday when I am off from work. I’m using a strawberry mask right now, but you can select any you like, there are a million kinds in the market. Again, chose products that suit your skin, if a product is not giving desired results, it definitely means there’s something wrong.

So take care of yourself and your skin, and as always, stay beautiful 🙂

