Flaky Land – How to get rid of Dandruff


We hardly ever rely on research and keep believing in whatever information is passed through the grapevine to us. I think many of the skin and hair issues come in this category, because I myself have been doing that for a very long time. For example if someone suggested a particular hair oil saying it really helped in hair growth, I went on and tried it, not thinking for a second that I should check what it really is for and whether it suits my hair. Sadly these remedies never work, so I have changed now, I prefer researching regarding any home remedy I hear of, before actually applying it. And I recommend you do that too.

Do we know what dandruff is?

Dandruff is dead skin flakes falling off from our scalp. The intensity of dandruff can vary from mild to severe for different people.

What are the causes of dandruff?

  • Improper food diet
  • Stress
  • Over exertion
  • Scalp exposed to extreme temperatures
  • Not enough shampoo/brushing your hair
  • Oily scalp
  • Reaction to hair products

How to prevent dandruff?

Happiness (It is key to a healthy life, and vice versa)

Home remedies, they don’t seem to work for everyone, but here are a few that I have tried and they worked for a while, so if you want to try them:

  • Use a cotton ball to apply vinegar or lemon to your scalp and then rinse it off. Lemon is magical and it surely prevents dandruff from occurring, plus makes the scalp clean.
  • Apply curd on hair for half an hour, and then shampoo it off. There are two issues in that. Firstly, it stinks, and secondly, if I let it stay for longer it becomes really dry and there is a lot of hair loss after I rinse it off. So I have stopped using this technique, but it did make my hair silky and removed dandruff.
  • Lemon with amla when combined and applied is also an effective remedy.

Using the right hair products, however, is the most essential. Like I mentioned above, wrong hair products can cause irritation on scalp skin and cause dandruff. Hair care products I think is my favorite remedy. A few weeks ago I shared an article on Clear shampoo, I keep going back to their facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/clear) and I have attached a recent picture I found on it, calling the scalp flaky land was funny, but that is exactly what I feel every winter season, my head is flaky land for sure. I shampoo every alternate day, it helps keep the moisture in my hair and at the same time keeps my scalp clean and dandruff free.

Do share if you have any effective dandruff remedies!

