The Definition of ‘Cool’


Writing calms down my nerves. When I was little, I used to write letters to God, and then steal a match box from the kitchen, run to the roof, and burn the paper on which I wrote my confessions and requests to God. I strongly believed by burning the paper I was successfully delivering my message (the wind would take the ashes up to the sky) and these little escapades were always kept secret. Nobody would know what I wrote or did; a highly top secret mission. I don’t know how and why I came to have that belief, but it stuck with me. And even now, when I am 23 and getting older and apparently wiser, there is nothing like writing letters, I have stopped burning them though, because the burning part just seems too stupid. Why I am starting a blog, is a story continued from the one I just started telling, but I am going to take a small detour from here and explain what exactly I am going to write about.

I have always been a business student, I took accounting and Finance as a major in university, I am working as a Business Development Manager in a Digital marketing firm, but what I like talking about the most is fashion, and thus life. Fashion is a philosophy. What Coco Chanel has to say about fashion?

“Fashion is not something that exists in dresses only. Fashion is in the sky, in the street; fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.”

Fashion for me is a philosophy and an amalgamation of beauty, colors, and style. What’s the point of living an ordinary life? That’s easy, anybody can do that. Style is important. Colors define life. Beauty makes you desirable. Fashion is absolutely essential! (Fashion is how you interpret it though, my uncle calls this fashion parade a rat race, if you are in it, you’re life is hell, if you are not participating, it’s like being free, reaching nirvana and etc. Uncle you have no idea, it’s the best kind of addiction that exists.)

Everybody talks against it, yet everybody wants to adopt it. And that my friend, is the definition of ‘cool’.

